Home » News » Awards » Hanks, Tracy Named 2008 MAC Hermann Trophy Winners

Hanks, Tracy Named 2008 MAC Hermann Trophy Winners

Posted by NSCAA on Jan 9, 2009 in Awards 0 Comments

Bookmark and Share

Senior forward Kerri Hanks from the University of Notre Dame and senior forward Marcus Tracy of Wake Forest University are the winners of the 2008 Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy, presented to the top female and male players in NCAA Division I soccer. The winners were decided by a vote of NCAA Division I soccer coaches who are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Hanks (Allen, Texas), who won the MAC Hermann Trophy in 2006, becomes just the fourth two-time winner joining Mia Hamm (North Carolina, 1992-93), Cindy Parlow (North Carolina, 1997-98) and Christine Sinclair (Portland, 2004-05). She is the only player, male or female, to win the award in non-consecutive years. She finished the 2008 season ranked fifth in the nation in goals (20), tied for third in assists (15) and tied for second in points (55). The only Division I player to rank in the top five nationally in goals, assists and points this past season, she was named a NSCAA/adidas first-team All-America and the Big East Offensive Player of the Year.

Hanks led the Irish to the College Cup Final, where she set a NCAA championship record by scoring a goal just 0:16 into the match. Hanks finishes her collegiate career tied for second on the NCAA career assists list. She also ranks in the top 20 in seven other NCAA career scoring categories. Hanks established 63 different Notre Dame school records for career, single-season and postseason.

The first runner-up was North Carolina junior forward Casey Nogueira (Raleigh, N.C.) and UCLA senior midfielder Christina DiMartino (Massapequa, N.Y.) was the next runner-up.

Tracy (Newtown, Conn.) scored 13 goals and added 10 assists for 36 points during the 2008 season. He was one of only two players in the country to finish the year with double-digit totals in goals and assists. Tracy registered at least one point in 16 of Wake Forest’s 24 games. He was honored for his stellar play by being named a first-team All-ACC selection and a first-team NSCAA/adidas All-America. Tracy becomes the first Wake Forest player to win the MAC Hermann Trophy.

Tracy led the Demon Deacons to the 2008 College Cup, Wake’s third consecutive appearance. In 2007, Tracy was named the Most Outstanding Offensive Player of the College Cup as he led Wake to the program’s first national championship. During his career, Tracy helped Wake Forest to a 74-15-9 record and finished his career ranked in the school’s top 10 in points (83), goals (30) and assists (23).

The top runner-up was Akron sophomore forward Steve Zakuani (London, England) followed by Wake Forest senior midfielder Sam Cronin (Winston-Salem, N.C.).

The Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer’s players of the year awards since 1986. The MAC was established in 1903 as an athletic, dining and social club. It has a “Platinum Club of America” status, which is awarded to the top private clubs in the country.

Based in Kansas City, Kan., the NSCAA is the largest coaches' organization in the United States. Since its founding in 1941, it has grown to include more than 28,000 members who coach both genders at all levels of the sport. In addition to a national rankings program for colleges and high schools, NSCAA offers an extensive recognition program that presents nearly 10,000 individual awards every year. It fulfills its mission of coaching education through a nationwide program of clinics and week-long courses, teaching more than 4,000 soccer coaches each year.

An exhibition dedicated to the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy featuring all former recipients of both the MAC and Hermann trophies, the current winners, a replica of the Irish crystal trophy and the original Hermann Trophy is on display at the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Oneonta, N.Y. Additional information about the National Soccer Hall of Fame can be found at www.soccerhall.org.

Join the Conversation

NSCAA members log in to comment. Not a member? Learn more today.

  • No comments yet.