Home » News » Awards » Deacons Dominate Division I Menís All-America Team

Deacons Dominate Division I Menís All-America Team

Posted by NSCAA on Feb 4, 2009 in Awards 0 Comments

Bookmark and Share

Defending national champion Wake Forest placed five players on the 2008 NSCAA/adidas Men’s Division I All-America Team, including three first-team selections.

Earning first-team honors for the Demon Deacons were midfielders Corben Bone (Dallas, Texas) and Sam Cronin (Winston-Salem, N.C.) and forward Marcus Tracy (Newtown, Conn.). They were joined by second-team selection Ike Opara (Durham, N.C.) and third-team pick Cody Arnoux (Wilmington, N.C.).

Six other schools placed two players on the team: Akron, Creighton, Harvard, Illinois-Chicago, Loyola (Md.) and Cal-Davis. Combined, the four teams competing in the NCAA Men’s College Cup this weekend had eight players named, as Maryland, North Carolina and St. John’s each had one player named to the team.

Eleven players earned All-America recognition for the second time: Arnoux and Cronin of Wake Forest, Andre Akpan (Harvard/Grand Prairie, Texas), Calum Angus (Saint Louis/Portsmouth, England), Alejandro Bedoya (Boston College/Weston, Fla.), Graciano Brito (Quinnipiac/East Haven, Conn.), Mike Fucito (Harvard/Westford, Mass.), Omar Gonzalez (Maryland/Dallas, Texas), Mike Grella (Duke/Glen Cove, N.Y.), Brad Ring (Indiana/Rockford, Ill.) and O’Brian White (Connecticut/Scarborough, Ontario). White was the 2007 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy recipient.

The All-America selections were recognized at the annual All-America Luncheon, held in St. Louis, Mo., Jan. 17, as part of the 2009 NSCAA Convention.

2008 NSCAA/adidas NCAA Division I Men's All-America Team

First Team
Pos., Name, Class, School, Hometown
K, Jovan Bubonja, Jr., Illinois-Chicago, Chicago, Ill.
D, Calum Angus *, Sr., Saint Louis, Portsmouth, England
D, Matthew Besler, Sr., Notre Dame, Overland Park, Kan.
D, Omar Gonzalez *, Jr., Maryland, Dallas, Texas
D, Tennant McVea, Jr., Loyola (Md.), Belfast, Northern Ireland
M, Corben Bone, So., Wake Forest, Dallas, Texas
M, Sam Cronin *, Sr., Wake Forest, Winston-Salem, N.C.
M, Andrei Gotsmanov, Sr., Creighton, Omaha, Neb.
M, Baggio Husidic, Jr., Illinois-Chicago, Libertyville, Ill.
F, Andre Akpan *, Jr., Harvard, Grand Prairie, Texas
F, Mike Grella *, Sr., Duke, Glen Cove, N.Y.
F, Marcus Tracy, Sr., Wake Forest, Newtown, Conn.
F, Steve Zakuani, So., Akron, London, England

Second Team
K, Milos Kocic, Jr., Loyola (Md.), Leskovac, Serbia
D, Joel Gustafsson, Jr., St. John's, Queens, N.Y.
D, Ike Opara, So., Wake Forest, Durham, N.C.
D, Chris Schuler, Jr., Creighton, Omaha, Neb.
M, Alejandro Bedoya *, Sr., Boston College, Weston, Fla.
M, Michael Callahan, Sr., North Carolina, Cary, N.C.
M, Richard Jata, Sr., Campbell, Port Richey, Fla.
M, J.T. Noone, Jr., Temple, Harrisburg, Pa.
F, Quincy Amarikwa, Sr., Cal-Davis, Bakersfield, Calif.
F, Doug DeMartin, Sr., Michigan State, Mason, Mich.
F, Mike Fucito *, Sr., Harvard, Westford, Mass.
F, Daniel Revivo, Sr., Winthrop, Richmond Hill, Ontario
F, Chris Salvaggione, Sr., Charlotte, Monument, Colo.

Third Team
K, Steward Ceus, Sr., Albany, Albany, N.Y.
D, Mark Blades, Jr., Northwestern, Lakewood, Ohio
D, Michael Holody, Sr., Michigan, Auburn Hills, Mich.
D, Yohance Marshall, Sr., South Florida, Tampa, Fla.
M, Anthony Ampaipitakwong, So., Akron, Carrollton, Texas
M, Joshua Boateng, Sr., Liberty, Lynchburg, Va.
M, Dylan Curtis, Sr., Cal-Davis, Pleasanton, Calif.
M, Craig Henderson, Sr., Dartmouth, Lower Hutt, N.H.
M, Brad Ring *, Sr., Indiana, Rockford, Ill.
F, Cody Arnoux *, Jr., Wake Forest, Wilmington, N.C.
F, Graciano Brito *, Sr., Quinnipiac, East Haven, Conn.
F, Samson Malijani, Jr., Fairleigh Dickinson, Lusaka, Zambia
F, Chris Pontius, Sr., UC-Santa Barbara, Yorba Linda, Calif.
F, O'Brian White *, Sr., Connecticut, Scarborough, Ontario
F, Andrew Wiedeman, So., California, San Ramon, Calif.
* indicates prior selection

Join the Conversation

NSCAA members log in to comment. Not a member? Learn more today.

  • No comments yet.