Home » News » Awards » Andrews Named Girls Player of the Year; Heaberlin Earns Third Youth All-America Selection

Andrews Named Girls Player of the Year; Heaberlin Earns Third Youth All-America Selection

Posted by NSCAA on Dec 21, 2011 in Awards 0 Comments

Bookmark and Share

Morgan Andrews (FC Stars of Massachusetts/Milford, N.H.) has been named the 2011 NSCAA Girls Youth Player of the Year, leading a group of 40 players who have been named to the 2011 NSCAA Girls Youth All-America Team.

A two-time NSCAA Youth All-America selection, Andrews was also named to the NSCAA High School All-America Team and is the NSCAA High School State Player of the Year. She has scored 83 goals and added 35 assists playing for Milford High School. A member of US Youth National Teams since the age of 12, she currently is captain of the U.S. U-17 Women’s National Team and is preparing for the U-17 World Cup in Azerbaijan. She was the youngest player called into a recent U-23 National Team training camp. A three-sport athlete in high school, she also runs indoor and outdoor track and was first-team all-state as a kicker for the football team. She has verbally committed to Boston College.

Andrews is one of eight players to earn repeat selection to the All-America team. Bryane Heaberlin (St. Petersburg, Fla.) received the honor for the third consecutive year, while the following also were named in 2010: Andrews, Lindsey Horan (Golden, Colo.), Katie Naughton (Arlington Heights, Ill.), Cari Roccaro (East Islip, N.Y.), Abby Smith (Dallas, Texas), Ashley Spivey (Baltimore, Md.) and Brittany VonRueden (Mequon, Wis.).

The 40 athletes will be recognized at the annual All-America Luncheon, to be held in the Kansas City Convention Center's Grand Ballroom on Saturday, Jan. 14, in conjunction with the 2012 NSCAA Convention in Kansas City, Mo.

2011 NSCAA Girls Youth All-America Team

Player Hometown
Stephanie Amack Pleasanton, Calif.
Morgan Andrews* Milford, N.H.
Riley Barger Baldwin, Md.
Maddie Bauer Newport Beach, Calif.
Joanna Boyles Raleigh, N.C.
Gabby Byorth Dublin, Ohio
Carolyn Jane Campbell Kennesaw, Ga.
Makenzy Doniak Chino Hills, Calif.
Miranda Freeman Royal Palm Beach, Fla.
Zoey Goralski Naperville, Ill.
Summer Green Milford, Mich.
Bryane Heaberlin** St. Petersburg, Fla.
Lindsey Horan* Golden, Colo.
Kodi Lavrusky Yucaipa, Calif.
Ashley Meier Strongsville, Ohio
Cassie Miller Cave Creek, Ariz.
Gabbi Miranda Highlands Ranch, Colo.
Sarah Molina Rocky River, Ohio
Amber Munerlyn Corona, Calif.
Katie Naughton* Arlington Heights, Ill.
Antionette "Toni" Payne Birmingham, Ala.
Helena Pecht Mechanicsburg, Pa.
Courtney Raetzman Elk Grove Village, Ill.
Brittany Ratcliffe Williamstown, N.J.
Sarah Robinson Los Altos, Calif.
Cari Roccaro* East Islip, N.Y.
Alexis Shaffer Cary, N.C.
Taylor Smith Fort Worth, Texas
Abby Smith* Dallas, Texas
Emily Sonnett Marietta, Ga.
Ashley Spivey* Baltimore, Md.
Morgan Stanton Lakewood, Colo.
Morgan Stearns San Antonio, Texas
Allie Stephenson Lee's Summit, Mo.
Andi Sullivan Lorton, Va.
Zoe Swift Naperville, Ill.
Brittany VonRueden* Mequon, Wis.
Danielle Weatherholt Capitstrano Beach, Calif.
Allison Wetherington Acworth, Ga.
Sandra Yu Strongsvile, Ohio

*indicates repeat selection

Join the Conversation

NSCAA members log in to comment. Not a member? Learn more today.

  • No comments yet.