Home » News » Awards » Finlay, Wenger Lead 2011 NCAA Men's Division I All-America Team

Finlay, Wenger Lead 2011 NCAA Men's Division I All-America Team

Posted by NSCAA on Dec 9, 2011 in Awards 0 Comments

Bookmark and Share

Ethan Finlay (Creighton/Marshfield, Wis.) and Andrew Wenger (Duke/Lititz, Pa.), both finalists for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy, are joined by Enzo Martinez (North Carolina/Rock Hill, S.C.) and RJ Allen (Monmouth/Old Bridge, N.J.) as the four players earning repeat selection with the announcement of the 2011 NSCAA/Continental Tire NCAA Men's Division I All-America Team.

Finlay was joined by teammates Brian Holt (Omaha, Neb.) on the first team, while fellow Bluejays Andrew Duran (Mokena, Ill.) and Greg Jordan (Naperville, Ill.) earned second team honors as Creighton claimed the most spots on the team. Led by Martinez, North Carolina placed three players on the squad with Hermann Trophy finalist Billy Schuler (Allentown, N.J.) and Matthew Hedges (Carmel, Ind.).

The 35 athletes will be recognized at the annual All-America Luncheon, to be held in the Kansas City Convention Center's Grand Ballroom on Saturday, Jan. 14, in conjunction with the 2012 NSCAA Convention in Kansas City, Mo.

2011 NSCAA/Continental Tire Men's NCAA Division I All-America Team

First Team          
Pos. Player    Class    School Hometown
K Brian Holt    Sr.    Creighton Omaha, Neb.
D Chris Estridge    Sr.    Indiana Indianapolis, Ind.
D Matthew Hedges*    Sr.    North Carolina Carmel, Ind.
D Charles Rodriguez    Sr.    Charlotte Franklin, Tenn.
M Miguel Ibarra    Sr.    UC Irvine Lancaster, Calif.
M Enzo Martinez*    Jr.    North Carolina Rock Hill, S.C.
M Luis Silva    Sr.    UCSB Los Angeles, Calif.
F Ashton Bennett    Jr.    Coastal Carolina Claredon, Jamaica
F Ethan Finlay*    Sr.    Creighton Marshfield, Wis.
F Billy Schuler    Jr.    North Carolina Allentown, N.J.
F Andrew Wenger*    Jr.    Duke Lititz, Pa.
Second Team            
K Brian Rowe    Sr.    UCLA Eugene, Ore.
D RJ Allen*    Sr.    Monmouth Old Bridge, N.J.
D Andrew Duran    Sr.    Creighton Mokena, Ill.
D Kyle Venter    Jr.    New Mexico Aurora, Colo.
M Carlos Alvarez    Jr.    Connecticut Los Angeles, Calif.
M Greg Jordan    Sr.    Creighton Naperville, Ill.
M Lance Rozeboom    Sr.    New Mexico Walker, Iowa
M Paul Wyatt    Jr.    James Madison Modbury, England
F Dom Dwyer    Jr.    South Florida London, England
F Evans Frimpong    Sr.    Delaware Accra, Ghana
F Darren Mattocks    So.    Akron Portmore, Jamaica
F Casey Townsend    Sr.    Maryland Traverse City, Mich.
Third Team            
K Andre Blake    Fr.    Connecticut May Pen, Jamaica
D Austin Berry    Sr.    Louisville Cincinnati, Ohio
D Eric Schoenle    Jr.    West Virginia Yardley, Pa.
D Walker Zimmerman    Fr.    Furman Lawrenceville, Ga.
M Scott Caldwell    Jr.    Akron Braintree, Mass.
M Jonathan Mendoza    Jr.    Stetson Altamonte Springs, Fla.
M Pedro Ribeiro    So.    Coastal Carolina Belo Horizonte, Brazil
M John Stertzer    Jr.    Maryland Oakton, Va.
F Chandler Hoffman    Jr.    UCLA Birmingham, Ala.
F Mark Sherrod    So.    Memphis Knoxville, Tenn.
F Yannick Smith    Jr.    Old Dominion Hillsborough, N.J.
F Gyasi Zardes    So.    CSU Bakerfield Hawthorne, Calif.
  * indicates repeat selection      


Join the Conversation

NSCAA members log in to comment. Not a member? Learn more today.

  • No comments yet.