Home » News » Awards » Garcia, Mattheisen Earn Third NCAA Men's Division III All-America Honors

Garcia, Mattheisen Earn Third NCAA Men's Division III All-America Honors

Posted by NSCAA on Dec 15, 2011 in Awards 0 Comments

Bookmark and Share

Seniors Zach Garcia (Trinity [Texas]/Dallas, Texas) and Winston Mattheisen (Christopher Newport/Williamsburg, Va.) earned their third selections with the announcement of the 2011 NSCAA/Continental Tires NCAA Men's Division III All-America Team.

Five other players received recognition for the second time: Eric Anderson (Babson/Scituate, Mass.), Vinny Bell (Case Western/Parma Heights, Ohio), Sam DeMello (St. Lawrence/Easthampton, Mass.), Micah Rose (Swarthmore/Williston, Vt.) and Travis Wall (Ohio Wesleyan/Columbus, Ohio). Three teams placed three players each on the squad: Babson, Christopher Newport and Luther.

The 39 athletes will be recognized at the annual All-America Luncheon, to be held in the Kansas City Convention Center's Grand Ballroom on Saturday, Jan. 14, in conjunction with the 2012 NSCAA Convention in Kansas City, Mo.

2011 NSCAA/Continental Tires NCAA Men's Division III All-America Team

First Team          
Pos. Name    Class    School Hometown
K Steve O'Meara    Sr.    Luther Darien, Ill
D Alex Laird    Jr.    St. Lawrence Monroe, N.Y.
D Mark Lavery    Sr.    Oglethorpe Woodstock, Ga.
D Sean Moriarty    Jr.    Christopher Newport Yorktown, Va.
M Cody Costakis    Sr.    Washington (Mo.) Edgewood, Wash.
M Sam  DeMello*    Jr.    St. Lawrence Easthampton, Mass.
M Zach  Garcia**    Sr.    Trinity (Texas) Dallas, Texas
F Eric Anderson*    Jr.    Babson Scituate, Mass.
F Brian Lybert    Sr.    Christopher Newport Honolulu, Hawaii
F David  Rosenthal    So.    St. Olaf Burnsville, Minn.
F Travis Wall*    Sr.    Ohio Wesleyan Columbus, Ohio
Second Team            
K Nathan Sprenkel    Sr.    DePauw Zionsville, Ind.
D Curtis  Fornarotto    Sr.    Drew Ewing, N.J.
D Michael  Olson    Sr.    Luther Downers Grove, Ill.
D Phil  Vestergaard    Sr.    Williams St. Petersburg, Fla.
D Niro  Wimalase    Sr.    Case Western Mason, Ohio
M Cory Dobkins    Sr.    Ohio Northern Dublin, Ohio
M James Garcia-Prats    So.    Luther Houston, Texas
M Kristoffer Grahn    Sr.    North Park Tibro, Sweden
M Rory O'Neill   Jr.   Wesleyan Silver Springs, Md.
M Alex Oesewin    Sr.    Thomas More Louisville, Ky.
F Vinny  Bell*    Sr.    Case Western Parma Heights, Ohio
F Matt Fechter    Jr.    Colorado College Westfield, N.J.
F Jamal  Howard    Sr.    Albertus Magnus West Haven, Conn.
F Sam Meyer    Sr.    DePauw Northfield, Ill.
Third Team            
K Peter  Crowley    Sr.    Babson Lexington, Mass.
D Kevin  Brown    Sr.    Montclair State Wayne, N.J.
D Miles Colago    Sr.    Calvin Anoka, Minn.
D Taylor Ferry    Sr.    Dickinson Wyndmoor, Pa.
D Jake Urbaniak    Sr.    Univ of Texas Tyler Foresthill, Teas
M Jonathan Balfour    Sr.    DeSales London, England
M Micah  Rose*    Sr.    Swarthmore Williston, Vt.
M Dylan Stone    Sr.    Ohio Wesleyan Easton, Conn.
M Max  Walker    Sr.    Babson Newton, Mass.
F Eric Fortier    Jr.    Oneonta Pleasant Valley, N.Y.
F Winston Mattheisen**    Sr.    Christopher Newport Willilamsburg, Va.
F Pat McLean    Sr.    Washington (Mo.) Kingswood, Texas
F Corey Sindle    So.    Randolph Gloucester, Va.
F Clint Vatterrodt    Sr.    Rose Hulman Bloomington, Ill.

* indicates repeat selection

Join the Conversation

NSCAA members log in to comment. Not a member? Learn more today.

  • No comments yet.