Home » News » Awards » Indiana’s Zavaleta and Florida’s Tymrak named Disney Soccer/NSCAA Players of the Week

Indiana’s Zavaleta and Florida’s Tymrak named Disney Soccer/NSCAA Players of the Week

Posted by NSCAA on Aug 29, 2012 in Awards 0 Comments

Bookmark and Share

Indiana sophomore forward Eriq Zavaleta (Westfield, Ind.) and Florida senior midfielder/forward Erika Tymrak (Bradenton, Fla.) have been named Disney Soccer/NSCAA Players of the Week.

Zavaleta is the first men’s Player of the Week of the 2012 season. In the No. 10 Hoosiers’ opening week, Zavaleta tallied three goals which led the team in its two victories.

Zavaleta, a MAC-Hermann Trophy Watch List player, also earned Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week honors.

Tymrak played a role in two crucial goals in the No. 22 Gators’ 3-2 overtime win against former second-ranked Duke on Sunday. 

In the 65th minute, her cross deflected off a Duke defender for an own goal to tie the game at 2-2. Tymrak then scored the game-winner in overtime, finishing a give-and-go in the 94th minute.

Tymrak's efforts earned her SEC Offensive Player of the Week kudos and she was also named as a MAC-Hermann Trophy Watch List player.

The Disney Soccer/NSCAA National Players of the Week are announced every Wednesday. Each week, one male and one female player is selected by a committee from nominations submitted by NCAA Division I conferences.

The other men’s nominees included senior forward Kofi Gyawu (UAB), senior midfielder Chris Harmon (Old Dominion), senior midfielder/defender Kyle Hyland (IUPUI), junior defender Andrew O’Malley (Notre Dame), senior midfielder John Stertzer (Maryland), senior forward Alex Vivanco (Georgia State), junior defender Eric Pothast (Marquette), junior midfielder Maximilian Schulz (UNC-Greensboro) and freshman goalkeeper Ashkan Khosravi (UC Riverside).

The other women’s nominees included senior forward Amanda Buechel (Western Kentucky), senior goalkeeper Jami Finnell (UMKC), senior midfielder Christine Nairn (Penn State), junior forward Jessica Fuston (Texas Tech), junior goalkeeper Kelsey Wys (Florida State), sophomore defender Jess Crowder (West Virginia), sophomore goalkeeper Amy Czyz (Rice), sophomore forward Tiana Fujimoto (Hawaii), sophomore midfielder Taylor Ritzman (Seattle), freshman midfielder Madison Mercado (Oklahoma State), freshman defender D’Yonna Riley (Seton Hall) and freshman forward Chesney White (UNC-Greensboro).


Join the Conversation

NSCAA members log in to comment. Not a member? Learn more today.

  • No comments yet.