Home » News » Awards » Gansler, Farnsworth and Schellscheidt Recognized by the NSCAA for Their Long-Term Service to Soccer

Gansler, Farnsworth and Schellscheidt Recognized by the NSCAA for Their Long-Term Service to Soccer

Posted by NSCAA on Nov 29, 2012 in Awards 0 Comments

Bookmark and Share

The National Soccer Coaches Association of America annually honors three individuals who have elevated the game of soccer at their respective level (college, high school or youth) through his or her long-term dedication to the game.

For his long term service to youth soccer, NSCAA Hall of Famer Bob Gansler has been named the Charlotte Moran Award recipient.

Recognizing his work within the high school soccer ranks, Jeff Farnsworth, of Spencerport High School (N.Y.) has been named the Robert W. Robinson Award recipient.

Earning the Bill Jeffrey Award, an award that recognizes long term service to college soccer, is Manny Schellscheidt, former Seton Hall men’s soccer coach.

The three winners will be presented their honor at the 2013 NSCAA Awards Banquet, Friday, Jan. 18 at 7 p.m. at the NSCAA Convention in Indianapolis.

Charlotte Moran Long Term Service Award (Youth) - Bob Gansler

Gansler played 25 times as a defender for the U.S. National Team in Pan American, Olympic and World Cup qualifying games in the 1960s. A graduate of Marquette University, his coaching history includes work with the Milwaukee Bavarians and Marquette University High School. He continued his coaching career at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and the Milwaukee Rampage of the United Soccer Leagues.

Additionally, he has served as the head coach of the U.S. Men’s National Team and the MLS’s Kansas City Wizards and Toronto FC.  Gansler is widely regarded as one of the finest clinicians in the history of American soccer, and his wisdom and insight have been deeply appreciated by scores of participants in our Coaching Academy.

Gansler was named as a member of the NSCAA Hall of Fame, in addition to his many other honors.  Now retired, Gansler serves as an NSCAA National Staff coach.

Throughout his career, he has been active in youth and club soccer in Wisconsin and throughout the country. He’s become one of the nation’s top youth soccer educators.

Robert W. Robinson Long Term Service Award (High School) supported by the American Youth Soccer Organization – Jeff Farnsworth

Much of Jeff Farnsworth’s coaching career was spent with Spencerport High School. During more than 15 years as coach with the Rangers program, Farnsworth spent time as both an assistant and head varsity coach.

In addition to his work at SHS, his other coaching credentials include time as the New York State Olympic Development Team U-17 boys and U-16 girls coach, the Empire State Games head coach, an assistant coach at Roberts Wesleyan College (N.Y.), the Rochester Ravens (Women’s USISL), and the Spencerport Soccer club youth coach.

He served for 20 years as the NSCAA Awards manager and chair of the Awards Committee (1992-2012).

Farnsworth has been recognized for his work on several occasions. He was inducted into the New York State Section V Soccer Hall of Fame, the New York State High School Soccer Hall of Fame and the Spencerport High School Hall of Fame. He is also a NYS Section V Honor Award Winner and has received an NSCAA Letter of Commendation.

The Robert W. Robinson Long Term Service Award is supported by the American Youth Soccer Organization (AYSO), an organization dedicated to providing world class youth soccer programs that enriches children's lives. Find out more about AYSO at www.ayso.org.

Bill Jeffrey Long Term Service Award (College) - Manny Schellscheidt

Schellscheidt emigrated from his native Germany to America in the 1970s to become a successful soccer player and coach. During his playing years, he won two National Challenge Cups and one American League Soccer title. He would follow up his success on the pitch with two professional championships as a coach.

From 1988 to 2011, Schellscheidt was the head coach of the Seton Hall men’s team and would go on to win two Big East titles, eight NCAA Tournament berths, seven conference title game appearances and a trip to the NCAA Sweet 16.

He is a member of the National Soccer Hall of Fame, earning the honor in 1990.

Tickets for the NSCAA Awards Banquet can be purchased along with attendee registration.

Join the Conversation

NSCAA members log in to comment. Not a member? Learn more today.

  • No comments yet.