Home » News » Awards » Five Awarded NSCAA Letters of Commendation

Five Awarded NSCAA Letters of Commendation

Posted by NSCAA on Jan 22, 2013 in Awards 1 Comment

Bookmark and Share

(From L-R): NSCAA Immediate Past President Ralph Polson, Len Tsantiris, Dr. John Bratcher, Doug Mello, Donald Brock

The NSCAA Letter of Commendation is presented to recognize an NSCAA member for unusual achievement that clearly exceeds performance requirements, expectations or contributions beneficial to the NSCAA or soccer in the United States.

- Dr. John Bratcher – Indiana Wesleyan University
- Donald Brock – Needham High School (Mass.)
- Doug Mello – Hendrix College (Ark.)
- Michael Sabatelle – Emory University (Ga.)
- Len Tsantiris – University of Connecticut

The recipients of the Letters of Commendation accepted their award at the annual Awards Banquet last Friday, Jan. 18, at the NSCAA Convention in Indianapolis.

Dr. John Bratcher – Indiana Wesleyan University

The 2012 season concluded Bratcher's 11th year as IWU women's soccer's head coach and his 32nd year of collegiate coaching overall. This past season also included his 500th career win and his record at Indiana Wesleyan currently stands at 179-43-15 overall.

Donald Brock – Needham High School (Mass.)

On Friday, Nov. 16, 2012, Brock led the Needham boys team to the school's fourth state championship overall. He has been the Rockets' head coach for the past 45 seasons and was the leader of the team during each of the four title wins.

Doug Mello – Hendrix College (Ark.)

Mello has been at the helm of the Warrior men's program for five season, and concluded the 2012 season with a 10-6-3 overall record. This season, he also earned his 700th career win when Hendrix won 4-0 against LeTourneau University in September.

Michael Sabatelle – Emory University (Ga.)

Now retired as the Eagles' head coach, Sabatelle was a four-time conference Coach of the Year and posted a 212-85-32 record during his 17 years. He guided the Eagles to eight NCAA D-III national tournament appearances and four University Athletic Association (UAA) championships.

Len Tsantiris – University of Connecticut

This past fall marked Tsantiris's 32nd season as leader of the UConn women's program. During that time, he led the program to 28 National Tournaments. In late October, he earned his 500th career win when the Huskies posted a 3-1 win against Rutgers.

Join the Conversation

NSCAA members log in to comment. Not a member? Learn more today.

    • David Hourcade
    • 01/23/2013 01:52pm