Home » News » Awards » Jim Lennox to Receive the Walt Chyzowych Award

Jim Lennox to Receive the Walt Chyzowych Award

Posted by NSCAA on Jan 7, 2013 in Awards 0 Comments

Bookmark and Share

The NSCAA Foundation, in conjunction with the Walt Chyzowych Fund, has named long time veteran coach Jim Lennox recipient of the prestigious Walt Chyzowych Award for Life Time Achievement for 2013.

One of the most dedicated and respected soccer coaches in the game today, Lennox’s career has spanned more than 45 years.

After playing for legendary coach John Eiler at East Stroudsburg University, Lennox started his head coaching career at Mitchell Junior College in New London Connecticut in 1969 and remained at Mitchell for seven years before moving to Hartwick College in 1976.

At Hartwick, he produced a perennial powerhouse team that appeared in 13 NCAA Tournaments with five visits to the Final Four Championship Tournament, winning the National Championship in 1977.

Lennox’s overall record at Hartwick was 318 wins, 163 losses and 43 ties. Lennox was named NSCAA Junior College Coach of the Year in 1975 and NCAA Division I Coach of the Year in 1984. Among the notable players that Lennox coached at Hartwick were Glenn Myernick, Dominic Kinnear, Mike Burns, Billy Gazonas and Jeff Tipping.

His success at Hartwick led to Lennox’s appointment by Walt Chyzowych to the position of National Staff Coach for the U.S. Soccer Coaching Schools (1975-1995). While there, his teaching, dedication and example influenced thousands of developing coaches. And, as a coach of numerous National Teams (including the USA National “B” team, USA U21 team and as USA coach at the World University Games), among the players he coached were Kasey Keller, Eric Wynalda, Marcelo Balboa, Joe Max Moore, Cobi Jones and Brian McBride.

Upon learning of his selection for the Walt Chyzowych Award, Lennox said: “As a high school kid growing up in Philadelphia, I used to go watch this exceptional young soccer player by the name of Walt Chyzowych. Little did I know that he was to become a profound influence in my life. Working with Walter later through the coaching schools, he became my teacher, mentor, friend and inspiration. He was a master teacher and leader with a charismatic personality. Walt infused me with the knowledge, courage and confidence to assert my own personality into the American soccer coaching community, with the same intelligence and professionalism. Although I tried, I could never match the force of his personality.” 

"The past couple of days have evoked powerful memories of the man I love, respected and view as the cornerstone of my coaching career. I am excited and humbled to receive the 'Walt'and be thought of in the same esteemed company of the previous awardees.”

Lennox has long been involved with the NSCAA, most notably serving as its Director of Coaching (1983-1990) and is presently the NSCAA’s Director of Coaching Emeritus. After his tenure at Hartwick, he served as Director of Coaching for the Connecticut Youth Soccer Association (2003-2006) and currently serves as Assistant Coach of Women’s Soccer at St. Rose College, a NCAA Division II national contender.

Lennox has been elected to both the Hartwick College and Mitchell College Halls of Fame, and was awarded the NSCAA’s Bill Jeffery Award for his long time service to soccer in 2009.

The Walt Chyzowych Fund was founded after the 1994 passing of Chyzowych at Wake Forest University, to honor his work and memory and to promulgate his legacy as US Soccer’s Director of Coaching and USA National and Olympic Team coach. The Walt Chyzowych Award will be presented to Jim Lennox on Saturday Jan. 19, 2013 at 4 p.m. as part of the NSCAA Foundation-Walt Chyzowych Award Ceremony at the J. W. Marriott Hotel’s White River Ballroom. The public is invited.

Previous Walt Chyzowych Award winners are Jerry Yeagley ('96), Anson Dorrance ('97), Bill Killen ('98), Joe Morrone ('99), Bob Gansler ('00), John McKeon ('01), Mel Lorback ('02), Bruce Arena ('03), Tom Fleck ('04), Joe Machnik ('05), Nick Zlatar ('06), Lothar Osiender ('07), Jay Vidovich ('08), Jay Miller ('09), Walt Bahr ('10), Sigi Schmid ('11) and Ralph Perez ('12).

For more information on the Walt Chyzowych Fund, visit wcmfund.org and for further information on the NSCAA Foundation please go to NSCAA.com/foundation.

Join the Conversation

NSCAA members log in to comment. Not a member? Learn more today.

  • No comments yet.