Home » News » Awards » Thirty Student-Athletes Named as MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Thirty Student-Athletes Named as MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Posted by NSCAA on Dec 3, 2013 in Awards 0 Comments

Bookmark and Share

Fifteen men and 15 women have been named semifinalists for the 2013 Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual intercollegiate award presented annually during a January banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA College Services members may vote for their top choices Wednesday, Dec. 4 through Tuesday, Dec. 10 within myNSCAA on NSCAA.com. Soccer fans can also let their collective voice be heard by voting for their favorite player on the MAC’s website hosted by LockerDome, starting Thursday, Dec. 5.

The top three vote-getters for each gender from the combined NSCAA coaches and weighted fan votes will be announced as finalists Thursday, Dec. 12, followed by the announcement of the winners at the banquet, Friday, Jan. 10, 2014.

2013 Men's Semifinalists

2013 Women's Semifinalists

“Each year, we look forward to seeing the wealth of talent college soccer presents and working with the Missouri Athletic Club to cap the season by bestowing this prestigious award,” NSCAA CEO Joe Cummings said. “We also take pride in knowing that those that know this game the best, coaches and fans, have a hand in selecting these winners.”

This year’s semifinalist lists include the 2012 MAC Hermann winners, as Maryland forward Patrick Mullins (New Orleans) and North Carolina midfielder Crystal Dunn (Rockville Centre, N.Y.) move a step closer to potentially back-to-back trophy wins.

Additionally, three players named as 2012 semifinalists return to the 2013 list: Georgetown forward Steve Neumann (New Hope, Pa.), Penn State forward Maya Hayes (West Orange, N.J.), and Santa Clara midfielder Julie Johnston (Mesa, Ariz.).

"For more than a quarter century the Missouri Athletic Club has had the privilege of annually honoring the top players in college soccer," MAC director of communications Jim Wilson said. "We look forward to carrying on that tradition this year when we find out who joins the ranks of some of the legends of the game like Mia Hamm, Kristine Lilly, Claudia Reyna and Alexi Lalas, who all claimed the crystal soccer ball trophy as collegiate players."

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy and a list of past winners, visit the MAC Hermann Trophy page at NSCAA.com.

For news and highlight reels from previous MAC Hermann presentations, visit www.mac-hermann-trophy.org.

[+] Watch as the MAC Hermann Semifinalists were announced on the College Highlights & Rankings Show

About the Missouri Athletic Club
The Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer’s players of the year awards since 1986. The MAC was established in 1903 as an athletic, dining and social club. It has a “Platinum Club of America” status, which is awarded to the top private clubs in the country. To learn more about the Missouri Athletic Club, go to mac-stl.org.

About the NSCAA

Founded in 1941 and based in Kansas City, Kan., the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) is a non-profit organization with a mission to educate coaches, encourage excellence and serve the soccer community.

The NSCAA is the world’s largest soccer coaches’ organization with members at every level of the game. The membership is primarily made up of coaches, but also includes administrators, referees and others in the soccer industry. The NSCAA provides its members ways to enhance the game of soccer by providing a national education program, interaction and networking opportunities, and membership benefits.

For more information about the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, visit the NSCAA website at NSCAA.com.

2013 Men’s MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

[+] Men's Semifinalists' 2013 Accomplishments

Andre Blake GK Jr. Connecticut May Pen, Jamaica
Steve Birnbaum D Sr California Irvine, Calif.
Alec "AJ" Cochran D Jr Wisconsin St. Louis, Mo.
Taylor Peay D Sr. Washington Salt Lake City, Utah
Kyle Venter D Sr. New Mexico Aurora, Colo.
Laurie Bell M Jr Wisconsin-Milwaukee Poynton, England
Aodhan Quinn M Sr. Akron San Diego, Calif.
Pedro Ribeiro M Sr. Coastal Carolina Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Leo Stolz M Jr. UCLA Munich, Germany
Pete Caringi III F Sr UMBC Perry Hall, Md.
Tim Hopkinson F Sr. Old Dominion Nottingham, England
Sagi Lev-Ari F Jr Cal State-Northridge Haifa, Israel
Patrick Mullins F Sr. Maryland New Orleans, La.
Steve Neumann F Sr. Georgetown New Hope, Pa.
Harrison Shipp F Sr Notre Dame Lake Forest, Ill.

2013 Women’s MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

[+] Women's Semifinalists' 2013 Accomplishments

Sabrina D'Angelo GK Jr. South Carolina Welland, Ontario
Abby Dahlkemper D Jr. UCLA Menlo Park, Calif.
Amanda Frisbie D Sr Portland McKinney, Texas
Kassey Kallman D Sr Florida State Woodbury, Minn.
Emily Menges D Sr Georgetown Garden City, N.Y.
Morgan Brian M Jr Virginia  St. Simons Island, Ga.
Crystal Dunn M Sr North Carolina Rockville Centre, N.Y.
Julie Johnston M Sr Santa Clara Mesa, Ariz.
Makenzy Doniak F So Virginia Chino Hills, Calif.
Nkem Ezurike F Sr Michigan Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia
Kristen Hamilton F Sr Denver Littleton, Colo.
Maya Hayes F Sr Penn State West Orange, N.J.
Jazmine Reeves F Sr Virginia Tech Dover, Del.
Frances Silva F Sr. West Virginia Overland Park, Kan.
Rafaelle Souza F Sr Mississippi Salvador, Brazil


Join the Conversation

NSCAA members log in to comment. Not a member? Learn more today.

  • No comments yet.